Opened in 1925 giving under priviledged children a Summer holiday experience near the sea away from the coal mines of the valleys – this Boy’s Village at Aberthaw in South Wales is now totally derelict and a prime target for some graffiti and street art.
After changing owners in the 1990’s it has laid empty for many years now with demolition imminent to make way for a few lavish houses!
It was great to get inside the original chapel and discover what delights lie instore.
The first thing that hits you is just how big the space is and what a fantastic roof the chapel had.
A lot of vandalism and thieving has occurred here for the last few years – robbing the buildings of any items of value and character – even the stained glass windows have been removed from the chapel!
All around the perimeter is graffiti and street art from a whole host of artists including Amok, Mr P and even Invader!
As the strong Spring sunshine flooded through the open window frames a strong biting wind blew through the entire site.
It appears that recently a lot of the graffiti has been buffed but making a new canvas for this latest batch!
A few tasty stencils have appeared featuring Del Boy from Only Fools and Horses, a ‘Cereal Killer’ and another ‘Plonker’ – anyone know who they are supposed to be?
There were also these two colourful robot and wizard characters too. Dotted throughout the whole site were stencils of Freddy Kruger from the film Nightmare on Elm Street. Looking rather sinister and smoking a spliff in most of them!