Robots Will Kill in New York

Most tourists opt for Manhattan and Staten Island whilst on a vacation to New York but on my American adventure I thought I’d break from tradition and opt to travel a bit further into the New York boroughs and investigate some of the great street art and grafitti available in these neighbourhoods.

Starting off with a venture into Williamsburg area of Brooklyn. I wasn’t sure what to expect and how friendly I would find the neighbourhood but after getting off the short tube journey I made my way around the area to find quite a run down area, people lurking on street corners and a lot of derelict and industrial type buildings – my hopes to unearth some great street art were positive from the look of the area!
This was a neighbourhood that hasnt yet been ‘cleaned up’ for the tourists and as such was like a breath of fresh air to wander about.
Robots Will Kill Street Art, New York.
Robots Will Kill Street Art, New York.

I will showcase some of the great work I found in this area in another post but I feel I must highlight my favourite work I found first.

This was at the very end of my walk around Brooklyn, the temperature was getting hotter, my legs beginning to ache, the need for a toilet increasing and the batteries on my camera rapidly draining.

This location was VERY industrial with workshop after workshop complete with dusty roads and building sites. There weren’t many facilities or shops about and definately nowhere to get new batteries or to spend a penny!
 
You can see what this area looked like before these artistes brightened up the area back in 2008 – but venture along the wall and around the corner and you can see it bang up-to-date! (dontcha hate it when there is a gap in the Google space time continuum on Google Maps!)


This is where I unearthed the work I knew as Robots Will Kill (RWK) I had been following Robots Will Kill on Twitter for a while and had seen previous work from Chris RWK. You couldn’t imagine how I felt when I saw this beauty in the flesh – right in front of my eyes.
Total excitement took over – this is what I came to New York for!

Robots Will Kill Street Art, New York.
Robots Will Kill Street Art, New York.
Robots Will Kill Street Art, New York.
Robots Will Kill Street Art, New York.

I didn’t initially realise but Robots Will Kill was joined by numerous other local street artistes including ECB and Peeta to create these amazing designs which stretched around the corner to the next street.

Robots Will Kill Street Art, New York.

Robots Will Kill Street Art, New York.Robots Will Kill Street Art, New York.

Robots Will Kill Street Art, New York.

Robots Will Kill Street Art, New York.

Robots Will Kill Street Art, New York.

Robots Will Kill Street Art, New York.

Robots Will Kill Street Art, New York.

Robots Will Kill Street Art, New York.

Robots Will Kill Street Art, New York.

Robots Will Kill Street Art, New York.

Robots Will Kill Street Art, New York.

Leave a Reply

